Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.


EYFS Areas of Learning 

In addition to the Montessori Curriculum, we also follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) in line with Ofsted requirements. Below is a brief explanation of the EYFS areas and how each area of learning will help support children in their early years development.

The EYFS is split into seven areas of learning grouped under Prime Areas of Learning and Specific Areas of Learning.


Prime Areas of Learning:

Communication and Language (CL)
CL development involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.

Physical Development (PD)
PD involes providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.

Personal, Social and Emotional (PSE)
PSE involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities.


Specific Areas of Learning:

Literacy and writing (L)
L development involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children must be given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems, and other written materials) to ignite their interest.

Mathematics (Maths.)
Maths. involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, spaces, and measures.

Understanding the World (UW)
UW involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.

Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)
EAD involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play, and design and technology.